Stress and Avoidance

My default response to stress is avoidance. This is often unfortunate because avoidance tends to make the stress worse and yet, I always seem to end up there again the next time a large dose of stress catches me unaware.

Currently I have a lot going on. There are multiple uncertainties I have to deal with over the next two weeks, so I spent most of last week sleeping & hiding from everyone.

Now I have everything set up. I have contingency plans, backup plans, and multiple backup plans for my backup plans… I’ve done everything possible to try and make things run smoothly and all I can do at this point is to take it day by day and hope that the timing all works out.

So that’s why I haven’t been blogging. I’ve been avoiding.

I have been writing privately in my journal and I’ve been reading some excellent books that I plan to review at some point in the near-ish future. I have several posts all planned out and outlined (sort of) in my mind. I’ve had several really cool realizations recently that I’ve either journaled about or am allowing to percolate in my mind a bit while I wait for the words to come to me.

Eventually I will write and publish those posts.

In two weeks this will all be over. All the timing issues and uncertainties will be done. Finished. I’ll be able to relax and recover. A good friend will be in town and I’ll get to meet them for the first time. It will be a happy time ❤ All I have to do is wait. Time will keep moving forward until I’m to that point.

I’m no stranger to uncertainty. These things are never as bad as I make them out to be ahead of time in my mind. The timing always works out. The very act of having plans upon plans all but guarantees that my first plan will work out.

All the plans. All the possibilities. I can do this.

 

5 thoughts on “Stress and Avoidance

Leave a Reply

